Crim Teacher of the Year and Educational Services Professional honored at ceremony

Crim Teacher of the Year and Educational Services Professional honored at ceremony

A celebration of the commitments and dedication of staff members in the Bridgewater-Raritan Regional School District was presented on Tuesday, May 4.

The Somerville Elks Lodge served as the venue for the school district’s annual—and highly acclaimed—Staff Recognition Reception.

The event was held to honor the 2023-2024 Bridgewater-Raritan Teacher of the Year and the Educational Services Professionals for all 11 schools in the Bridgewater-Raritan Regional School District.

A total of 22 staff members–two from each school–were honored before an estimated crowd of 175, which included administrators, board of education members, staff, teachers, and families of the honorees.

The reception was sponsored by the Bridgewater-Raritan Education Association (BREA), while the ceremony was coordinated by the energetic and valuable Suzanne Klos, the Executive Secretary to the Superintendent.

She was assisted in preparing for this elite ceremony by Terry Brown and Kaitlyn McGhee, who are Administrative Assistants in the Office of the Assistant Superintendent for Curriculum and Instruction.

Laura Kress, the BREA President, opened the ceremony with her remarks that cited the faithfulness and devotion that are exhibited by the 22 honorees as well as the entire school district.

Superintendent Bob Beers followed Ms. Kress and touched on how “Bridgewater-Raritan is unique in that we are able to hold an event such as this.”

He applauded the honorees and the school district for “a high level of commitment to excel’ and described the teaching profession as a calling rather than a job.

Each school principal was given the opportunity to speak and introduce their two distinguished staff members–Teacher of the Year and Educational Services Professional of the Year.

Each honoree received a commemorative gift that was handed out by the Board of Education Vice President, Jennifer Loughran, and a Board of Education member, Stacey Friedlander.

Here is the summary for each Crim honoree presented by Principal Kelliann TenKate.

Kimberly Kaminsky
Crim Primary School
Grade 1 Special Education Teacher

Kim Kaminsky has been teaching at Crim Primary School for the past nine years. Kim
is an exceptionally skilled and dedicated teacher who creates a caring, nurturing, and
structured environment for her students. Kim is a strong advocate for her students and
regularly works to implement strategies to assist students in meeting their educational
goals and reaching their fullest potential. Kim is respected by colleagues, parents, students,
and administrators. She works closely with colleagues on her grade level to assist them
in acclimating to the curriculum, correspond with parents, and address everyday
classroom challenges. Kim reflects on her practice and consistently communicates with
her parents. Kim plans and delivers professional development for staff while also exposing
students to the love of painting through PTO mini-courses.
Kim is a caring and dedicated professional who makes Crim school a better place for
both students and staff. Our learning community is proud to have the opportunity to
endorse Kim Kaminsky as our 2023-2024 Teacher of the Year.
Mrs. Kaminsky shared, “I started teaching in Bridgewater fairly early in my teaching
career and immediately felt at home. I feel so lucky to be a part of the Crim community.
I work with so many wonderful colleagues, students, and parents every day. I strive to
share my passion for learning with my students and encourage them to be the best
version of themselves. I love watching them learn, grow and overcome obstacles
throughout the school year. My first grade team is like a family to me. We work
together, share ideas, and support each other to be the best teachers we can be for our
students. I truly feel so grateful for the home I have found at Crim School and the
wonderful colleagues and friends I work with each day.”

Monica Hammond
Crim Primary School

Elementary Teaching Specialist

Monica Hammond has excelled within the Bridgewater-Raritan Regional School
District for 21 years as a classroom teacher, an intervention specialist, and an elementary
teaching specialist. Monica’s knowledge and professional experience have positively
impacted the Crim Primary School community. She provides various and ongoing
opportunities for staff to learn new skills, explore, and converse. She has created an
environment that welcomes growth and learning. Her purposeful use of district
resources and dissemination of information to staff is reflective of her focus on
promoting student success and teacher efficacy.
Monica is a member of the Crisis Management Team and SCIP committee, coordinates
school testing, and leads the Scripps Spelling Bee. Her knowledge, support, and
willingness to assist is well-respected and admired by students, staff, and administrators.
The Crim School community is proud to have the opportunity to endorse Monica
Hammond is our 2023-2024 Educational Services Professional of the Year.
Ms. Hammond shared, “My role within the district has changed over time, but I
continue to learn so much from the strong and talented educators who I am surrounded
by daily. While teaching second grade at Bradley Gardens School, I learned about the
kind of teacher I wanted to be - approachable, compassionate, and knowledgeable. The
students there, along with their families and my colleagues, helped to shape my future
in education. Moving to the ETS and IS roles at Adamsville School opened my heart
to learn about how to connect to students and families with varying needs. Working
with our ESL population has been one of the greatest joys of my career. When the ETS
role at Crim School opened in 2020, I knew immediately that I wanted the opportunity
to continue to work directly with teachers and students in another part of the district. I
am happy to have found a home at Crim and am grateful for the continued support of
the colleagues I have met along the way.”

Listed below are the 22 staff members who were honored.

Teacher of the Year Award - 2023-2024
Alexandra Pelligrino, Adamsville, Special Education Teacher
Susan Winters, Bradley Gardens, Grade 2 Teacher
Kimberly Kaminsky, Crim, Special Education Teacher
Paige Hering-Boehme, Hamilton, Grade 1 Teacher
Angela Randazzo, John F. Kennedy, Grade 3 Teacher
Bryan Smith, Milltown, Physical Education Teacher
Megan Rutkowski, Van Holten, Grade 1 Teacher
Jaclynn Hurley, Eisenhower, Grade 5 Teacher
Taryn Prince, Hillside, Grade 6 Special Education Teacher
Ashlen Udell, Middle School, Teacher of Music
Hsiao-yu Lin (Sherry) Griggs, High School, Teacher of Music
Educational Services Professional Award - 2023-2024

Deborah Calabrese, Adamsville, Speech Language Specialist
Puja Arora, Bradley Gardens, School Counselor
Monica Hammond, Crim, Elementary Teaching Specialist
Kathleen Hughes, Hamilton, School Nurse
Holly Gibson, John F. Kennedy, Intervention Specialist
Stephanie Campisi, Milltown, School Counselor
Sarojini Panwar, Van Holten, Instructional Assistant
Tara Rutkowski, Eisenhower, Instructional Assistant
Maria Giardella, Hillside, Learning Disabilities Teaching Consultant
Rosalia Finazzo, Middle School, Instructional Assistant
Lauren Amisial, High School, Student Assistance Counselor
 Linked below is the program that features the background of each of the 22 honorees.


BRRSD 2024 Staff Recognition Reception Program